12 Top Vegan Options at Chili’s (the Full Guide)

Vegan Options at Chili's

Eating out can be difficult for those on a vegan diet. While the number of vegan restaurants are increasing, there is still a large amount of non-vegan restaurants. Therefore, you are bound to end up at one at some point. When you do, it is important to know what you can and cannot eat. Chili’s is a popular restaurant that has been around for about 46 years. If you ever find yourself at Chili’s (which you probably will), rest assured you will be able to eat a good, vegan-friendly meal that is more than just a salad or some vegetables.

Chili’s has more vegan menu items than you might think. While they mainly include sides, appetizers, and salads, you can make a pretty satisfying meal out of them. Some of the menu items are vegan on their own and some require slight modifications. Nevertheless, if you ask politely with a friendly smile, your server will be happy to accommodate you.

It can be hard to figure out which menu items are vegan-friendly at Chili’s or how to make a dish vegan-friendly. If you are new to the vegan diet that task can be even harder. Read on to learn which menu items are vegan-friendly, including their ingredients, and which menu items you should avoid when eating at Chili’s.

Tips & Tricks for Ordering Vegan at Chili’s

It can be hard to figure out which menu items are vegan or how to make them vegan, especially if you are new to the vegan diet. Not to worry, though. If you follow these tips and tricks, you will be ordering vegan like a pro at Chili’s in no time.

  • Munch on the bottomless tortilla chips and salsa while you wait for your appetizers and entrée to come out.
  • Make sure to omit the ranch dressing if you order the fried pickle slices.
  • Ask if you can sub beans in place of meat in any of the taco dishes.
  • Be sure to omit the butter on any veggies such as corn on the cob.
  • Omit the cheese and non-vegan dressing on the salads for a healthy, vegan-friendly option.

Non-Vegan Foods to Avoid at Chili’s

Unfortunately, not everything is vegan or can be made vegan at Chili’s. In fact, the majority of the menu at Chili’s is not vegan-friendly. The menu at Chili’s can be pretty overwhelming, as there are so many options. An extensive menu like the one at Chili’s can make it even more difficult to order or create a vegan meal. That is why we compiled this list of all the non-vegan menu items you should avoid when dining at Chili’s.

  • Southwestern egg rolls (contains chicken, cheese and avocado-ranch dressing)
  • Skillet queso (contains cheese)
  • White spinach queso (contains cheese)
  • Boneless wings
  • Bone-in wings
  • Loaded boneless wings (contains chicken, cheese, sour cream and bacon)
  • Classic nachos (contains cheese and sour cream)
  • Crispy cheddar bites (contains cheese)
  • Texas cheese fries
  • Any burger such as the bacon rancher, Chili’s secret sauce burger, queso burger, etc.
  • Any of the ribs such as the Texas dry rub ribs, honey-chipotle ribs, etc.
  • Classic sirloin steak
  • Chicken fajitas (contains chicken and cheese)
  • Steak fajitas (contains steak and cheese)
  • Shrimp fajitas (contains shrimp and cheese)
  • Boneless buffalo chicken salad (contains chicken and cheese)
  • Quesadilla explosion salad (contains cheese)
  • Santa Fe chicken salad
  • Caribbean salad with seared shrimp or grilled chicken
  • Southwest chicken Caesar salad
  • Southwest shrimp Caesar salad
  • Grilled chicken salad
  • Original chili (contains meat and is topped with cheese and sour cream)
  • Big mouth crispy chicken sandwich
  • Bacon avocado grilled chicken sandwich
  • Buffalo chicken ranch sandwich
  • California turkey club
  • Any of the chicken crispers such as the original chicken crispers, crispy honey-chipotle chicken crispers, honey-chipotle crispers, etc.
  • Ancho salmon
  • Any of the pepper pal’s burger or chicken bites such as cheeseburger bites, grilled chicken bites, etc.
  • Grilled cheese sandwich
  • Pepper pal’s cheesy chicken pasta
  • Cheese pizza
  • Pepperoni pizza
  • Mac and cheese
  • Mexican rice (it is often made with chicken broth)
  • Chipotle chicken and/or shrimp fresh mex bowl (contains chicken or shrimp and cheese)
  • Cajun chicken and/or shrimp pasta
  • Margherita grilled chicken
  • Any of the quesadillas such as the brisket quesadillas, bacon ranch chicken quesadillas, etc.
  • Molten chocolate cake (contains dairy)
  • Skillet chocolate chip cookie (contains dairy)
  • Cheesecake (contains dairy)

Vegan Options at Chili’s

After reading the extensive list of all the non-vegan items to avoid at Chili’s, you are probably wondering, “Is there anything I can eat?” While the majority of the menu at Chili’s is not vegan-friendly, there are a decent amount of vegan-friendly items on the menu, as well. Some dishes are vegan all on their own and some dishes require slight modifications to make them vegan-friendly. Nevertheless, here are all the vegan-friendly menu items at Chili’s:


  1. Bottomless Tortilla Chips & Salsa

These are the ingredients in the tortilla chips:

  • Corn
  • Vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • Water

These are the ingredients in the salsa:

  • Green chilies
  • Canned tomatoes
  • Sugar
  • Garlic salt
  1. Tortilla Chips & Table-side Guacamole

These are the ingredients in the tortilla chips:

  • Corn
  • Vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • Water

These are the ingredients in the table-side guacamole:

  • Avocado
  • Fire-roasted jalapenos
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Cilantro
  1. Fried Pickle Slices (omit the ranch dressing, sub a vegan-friendly dressing if desired)

  • Pickle slices
  • All-purpose flour
  • Italian-seasoned bread crumbs
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Salt
  • Vegetable oil


  1. Side House Salad (omit the shredded cheese and garlic croutons)

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Side House Salad:

  • Tomatoes
  • Red onions
  • Cucumbers
  • Your choice of vegan-friendly dressing
  1. Caribbean Salad (omit grilled chicken or seared shrimp and sub honey-lime dressing for a vegan-friendly dressing)

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Caribbean Salad:

  • Pineapple
  • Mandarin oranges
  • Dried cranberries
  • Red bell peppers
  • Green onions
  • Cilantro

Main Course

  1. Black Bean & Veggie Fajitas with Avocado (omit the cheese and Mexican rice)

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Black Bean & Veggie Fajitas with Avocado:

  • Black beans
  • Red bell peppers
  • Yellow bell peppers
  • Onions
  • Avocado
  1. Tacos (sub beans for meat & omit cheese and sour cream)

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Tacos:

  • Flour tortilla (enriched bleached wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, vegetable shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, and/or palm oil), contains 2% or less of: salt, sugar, leavening, distilled monoglycerides, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, antioxidants, cellulose gum, guar gum, dough conditioners (fumaric acid, sodium metabisulfite, and/or mono- and diglycerides), calcium propionate, sorbic acid (to preserve freshness))
  • Rice
  • Black beans
  • Guacamole
  • Cilantro
  • Pico


  1. Corn on the Cob (omit the butter)

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Corn on the Cob:

  • Corn
  1. Grilled Asparagus

These are the ingredients in Chili’s Grilled Asparagus:

  • Asparagus

Alcoholic Beverages

  1. Presidente Margarita

These are the ingredients in the Presidente Margarita at Chili’s:

  • Sauza Conmemorativo tequila
  • Patron Citronge
  • E & J Brandy
  • Classic, mango or strawberry flavoring
  1. Tropical Sunrise Margarita

These are the ingredients in the Tropical Sunrise Margarita at Chili’s:

  • Hornitos Reposado Tequila
  • DeKuyper melon schnapps
  • Grenadine
  • Pineapple juice
  1. Deep Eddy Strawberry Texas Lemonade

These are the ingredients in the Deep Eddy Strawberry Texas Lemonade at Chili’s:

  • Deep Eddy lemon vodka
  • Cointreau
  • Fresh sour
  • Strawberry puree
  • Sprite

Find a Chili’s Near You

There are more than 1,600 Chili’s locations in 33 countries and two territories. That means if you are craving Chili’s there will most likely be one close enough to you, so you can satisfy your craving. Click here to find a Chili’s in your area.

Similar Restaurants to Chili’s

If you like Chili’s, you are going to love these restaurants. They are just like Chili’s, but with their own unique twist. If you do not like Chili’s, not to worry. You still might like these restaurants. Although they are similar to Chili’s, they are different enough that you just might like it better. The next time you are looking for something different to try, go to one of these restaurants:

  1. Applebee’s
  2. Buffalo Wild Wings
  3. TGI Fridays

Related Questions

Is Chili’s Black Bean Burger Vegan?

If you see a black bean burger on the menu, you might be quick to order it thinking it must be vegan. However, that is not the case with Chili’s black bean burger. Chili’s uses eggs and dairy in their black bean burger and therefore it is not vegan. You do not need to worry about it, though, because the black bean burger is not currently on the menu at Chili’s.

Is Chili’s Broccoli Vegan?

Veggies are always a safe choice for those on the vegan diet. Feel free to order a side of broccoli with your meal at Chili’s. Just make sure to tell the waiter or waitress that you are vegan, so he or she can make sure that your broccoli is prepared without butter. If you ask politely and with a friendly smile, your server will be more than happy to accommodate your dietary needs.

Are Chili’s Fajitas Vegan?

Most of the fajitas on the menu at Chili’s contain chicken, steak and other non-vegan ingredients. However, there are the black bean and veggie fajitas with avocado that are suitable for vegans. Once again, be sure to tell your waiter or waitress that you are vegan, so he or she can make sure that your dish is prepared correctly to suit your diet. Don’t forget to ask politely and give a friendly smile. Kindness goes a long way.

Related Guides

Choosing Nutrition Team

Here at Choosing Nutrition, our goal is to help people with making smarter food choices. Whether you're wondering about vegan, keto, paleo, or other diets, we'll help you determine which options fit your nutritional lifestyle. Our staff is composed of registered dieticians, nutritionists, and health-conscious individuals.

Recent Posts