If you find yourself tagging along with some friends to LongHorn Steakhouse, you will probably not expect to find many vegan options on their menu. Most steakhouses cater to meat-lovers, so plant-based meals tend to be left out. If you happen to find yourself attempting to dine vegan at a LongHorn Steakhouse, what can you eat?
LongHorn Steakhouse has side dishes that are vegan-friendly including their side mixed green salad and side strawberry pecan salad, as well as their entrée Grilled Chicken and Strawberry Salad (without chicken and feta cheese) and Farm Fresh Field Greens (without salmon or crispy chicken, shredded cheese, and croutons). They also have a variety of vegan-friendly sides, sauces, and beverages.
Now that we know what to look for at LongHorn Steakhouse, let’s look at some tips and tricks for ordering vegan at LongHorn, non-vegan foods to avoid, and related questions.
- Tips & Tricks for Ordering Vegan at LongHorn Steakhouse
- Special Diets and Allergies
- Non-Vegan Foods to Avoid at LongHorn Steakhouse
- Top Vegan Options at LongHorn Steakhouse
- Vegan Side Salads
- Vegan Entrée Salads
- Vegan Sides
- Vegan Sauces
- Vegan Kid’s Menu Options
- Vegan Beverages
- Is LongHorn Steakhouse Vegan-Friendly?
- Find a LongHorn Steakhouse near You
- Similar Restaurants to LongHorn Steakhouse
- Related Questions
Tips & Tricks for Ordering Vegan at LongHorn Steakhouse
Ordering vegan options at a steakhouse is no easy feat. If you find yourself wondering what you can eat at a LongHorn Steakhouse, these tips and tricks can help.
- LongHorn Steakhouse’s Seasoned Rice Pilaf is cooked in chicken broth.
- Both of LongHorn Steakhouse’s sides of Crispy Brussel Sprouts and Crispy Texas Okra are cooked in butter – ask for no butter.
- If you are worried about your order being bland and you have some time, bring your own seasonings, such as nutritional yeast and vegan salad dressings.
- LongHorn Steakhouse has off-menu fruit available, including oranges, grapes, and watermelon depending on the season.
- You can also order an off-menu banana berry smoothie that can be made vegan-friendly if you ask for it to be made with ice.
- Some LongHorn Steakhouse locations are said to brush their baked and sweet potatoes with bacon grease or butter before baking so be sure to ask your server if this can be made without before ordering.
Special Diets and Allergies
It’s important to note LongHorn Steakhouse’s Allergen Guide, which reads as follows:
Because all of our dishes are prepared-to-order, our normal kitchen operations may involve shared cooking and preparation areas.
Therefore, we cannot guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of allergens. Items cooked on our grill or in our fryer present a special risk for cross-contact and we’ve tried to clearly identify those for you. Please note, our kitchens are not free of Gluten.
Please be sure to tell your server that you have an allergy or intolerance. This will allow us to alert the kitchen of your special needs. Our restaurant team members will follow specific procedures to help prevent cross-contact.
Additional information regarding LongHorn Steakhouse’s Allergy Guide can be found here.
Non-Vegan Foods to Avoid at LongHorn Steakhouse
Unfortunately, the majority of menu items at LongHorn Steakhouse are not considered vegan-friendly as they are centered around steak and other meat products. If you aren’t sure what you should avoid, below is a list of some of the menu items that cannot be altered to be free of animal products.
- Flo’s Fillet
- Outlaw Ribeye
- Renegade Sirloin
- New York Strip
- Fire-Grilled T-Bone
- The Longhorn Porterhouse
- Chop Steak
- Renegade Sirloin & Redrock Grilled Shrimp
- Flo’s Filet & Lobster Tail
- Hand-Breaded Chicken Tenders
- Parmesan Crusted Chicken
- Longhorn Salmon
- Baby Back Ribs
- Cowboy Pork Chops
- Redrock Grilled Shrimp
- The LH Burger
- Maverick Ribeye Sandwich
- Shrimp & Lobster Chowder
- French Onion Soup
- Crispy Buttermilk Chicken Sandwich Combo
- Half-Pound Steakhouse Cheeseburger Combo
- Baker’s Dozen Donut Bites
- Triple Chocolate Cheesecake
- Chocolate Stampede
- Strawberries & Cream Shortcake
- Molten Lava Cake
- 7-Pepper Sirloin Salad
Top Vegan Options at LongHorn Steakhouse
Now that we know what we should be avoiding, let’s look at some of the options that can be made available to those on a vegan diet at LongHorn Steakhouse locations. Please note that some menu items may vary by location.
Always be sure to verify with your waiter if you have a food allergy or dietary preference to be sure your food choices are not contaminated with products you wish to avoid. Most menu items listed below require alterations for them to fit a vegan diet.
Vegan Side Salads
LongHorn Steakhouse currently offers three different side salad options, mixed greens, strawberry pecan, and Caesar. Of the three, their mixed greens and strawberry pecan side salads are vegan-friendly if you choose a vegan dressing.
Some of their vegan dressing options include balsamic vinaigrette, raspberry vinaigrette, Italian, honey mustard, and oil and vinegar options.
1. Mixed green salad
2. Strawberry pecan salad
Vegan Entrée Salads
1. Grilled Chicken and Strawberry Salad (without chicken and feta cheese)
LongHorn Steakhouse offers a small variety of entrée salads, a few of which can be made vegan-friendly, including their grilled chicken strawberry salad. Simply ask your server to prepare it without chicken or feta cheese for a light and fresh option.
- Mandarin oranges
- Candied pecans
- Raspberry vinaigrette
2. Farm Fresh Field Greens (without salmon or crispy chicken, shredded cheese, and croutons)
Another entrée salad that can be made vegan-friendly at LongHorn Steakhouse is their Farm Fresh Field Greens salad. Currently, this salad is available with chicken tenders or salmon.
Ask your server to prepare it without the meat, shredded cheese, and croutons. If it is feeling a bit plain, you can request a vegan side option, or two, to include in the salad, such as steamed broccoli or asparagus.
- Field Greens
- Diced Tomatoes
Below is a list of LongHorn Steakhouse’s vegan-friendly side options. Be sure to verify with your server at your local LongHorn Steakhouse that these options can be modified if needed to avoid animal ingredients.
The only items on their sides that do not need to be modified are their steamed broccoli and asparagus. However, some locations may use butter in these as well. Their French fries are cooked in soybean oil but may be cross-contaminated with other items, such as their chicken tenders.
1. Mashed Potatoes (without butter)
2. Sweet Potato (without butter)
3. Loaded Idaho Baked Potato (without sour cream, butter, and cheese)
4. Seasoned French Fries
5. Steamed Broccoli
6. Steamed Asparagus
7. Bread (without butter)
Below is a list of vegan sauces and dressings currently available at LongHorn Steakhouse. Be sure to verify at your local LongHorn as availability may differ from location to location.
1. Balsamic vinaigrette
2. Raspberry vinaigrette
4. Oil and vinegar
5. French dressing
6. The original
7. BBQ sauce
Vegan Kid’s Menu Options
1. Fresh Fruit (red seedless grapes or an orange)
2. Seasoned French Fries
1. Raspberry Iced Tea
2. Peach Iced Tea
3. Sweet Tea
4. Unsweetened Tea
5. Strawberry Lemonade
6. Raspberry Lemonade
8. Diet Coke
9. Pibb Xtra
11. Cranberry Juice
12. Orange Juice
13. Apple Juice
14. Minute Maid Lemonade
16. Bottled Water
Is LongHorn Steakhouse Vegan-Friendly?
If you couldn’t already tell by now, LongHorn Steakhouse is not a vegan-friendly restaurant. For those following a vegan, or even a vegetarian or dairy-free diet, dining at this steakhouse will be a challenge. Most of their menu items include meat, cheese, or other animal products.
Although LongHorn does offer menu items that can be adjusted to fit a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle, it often leaves the meal lacking in flavor and variety. Currently their only options are salads with only produce and a few select vegan-friendly dressings or side items.
Find a LongHorn Steakhouse near You
To find a LongHorn Steakhouse near you, click the link here.
Similar Restaurants to LongHorn Steakhouse
As you might have guessed, LongHorn Steakhouse has many competitors in the steakhouse world. Their top 3 competitors and most similar-style restaurants include Outback Steakhouse, Texas Roadhouse, and Logan’s Roadhouse restaurants. Click the links below to view their website.
Is LongHorn Steakhouse’s Bread Dairy-Free?
LongHorn Steakhouse does not use dairy or other animal products in their bread, which is good news for vegan dieters. However, they often serve their bread with butter. If you are looking for a vegan option, simply ask your server to omit the butter with your bread and enjoy it plain. Some locations are believed to also brush their bread with butter before baking, so always be sure to verify with your server to make sure you don’t accidentally ingest dairy.
Does LongHorn Steakhouse Have a Veggie Burger?
Currently, LongHorn Steakhouse does not offer a veggie burger option or any meat alternative burger on its menu. Being that this restaurant is a steakhouse, the popular chain has avoided catering to the vegan and vegetarian population. Like Many steakhouses of its kind, LongHorn Steakhouse is all about the meat. If you are looking for vegan and vegetarian-friendly restaurants, consider avoiding anything with ‘Steakhouse’ in the name.
Does LongHorn Steakhouses’ Honey Mustard Have Dairy?
LongHorn Steakhouse has a variety of dairy-free, vegan-friendly dressing and sauce options, including their honey mustard dressing. Aside from their popular honey mustard, their oil and vinegar dressing, Italian dressing, French dressing, and vinaigrette dressings are also dairy-free and vegan-friendly along with other condiments such as ketchup and mustard. If you ever aren’t sure if a menu item, condiment, or beverage is vegan-friendly, consider checking their allergy listings or ask your server for help.