Is Oat Milk Gluten Free? (Find Out Now!)

Is Oat Milk Gluten Free

Milk is a main staple that occupies refrigerator shelves in many people’s homes. It is a versatile beverage that can be consumed plain, used in recipes, or added to coffee. While a popular choice for many, some people are unable to consume dairy products due to an allergy, personal preference, or dietary restrictions. Because of this, cow’s milk alternatives have become all the rage in recent years with a multitude of different varieties, flavors, and brands bursting onto the scene. Perhaps one of the most popular alternatives is oat milk. While oat milk may sound like a perfect alternative for those unable to enjoy cow’s milk, it could pose an issue for those following a gluten-free diet.

Oat milk is gluten-free if it is made using gluten-free oats. For those following a gluten-free diet, it is important to look for certified gluten-free oat milk products. Califia Farms and Oatly both offer gluten-free oat milk. The best gluten-free alternatives to oat milk include Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original Almond Milk and Ripple Dairy Free Unsweetened Original. 

In this article we’ll discuss a brief overview of oat milk, nutritional content, review some gluten-free oat milk varieties, and discuss several other alternative options. Let’s dig in!

What is Oat Milk?

Oat milk is a popular milk alternative for those following dairy-free, vegetarian, vegan, and/or nut-free diets. It has a creamy texture and nutty flavor that makes it the perfect addition to many recipes and beverages. It has become a wildly popular addition to many coffee drinks. 

How is Oat Milk Made?

In its simplest form, oat milk is made by combining oats with water. The combination is then blended until a fine consistency is achieved. Some commercial production of oat milk will then add enzymes to break down the starches in the oats. The liquid is then separated from the oat “pulp” by way of a filter or strainer. From here, the oat milk is in its simplest form. Many commercial oat milk producers will add several other ingredients and heat-treat the oat and water mixture to extend shelf-life. These additional ingredients can include sugar, flavoring, oils to promote an appealing mouthfeel, vitamin and mineral blends for nutrient fortification, and gums to ensure the milk remains stable and uniform in texture. 

Is Oat Milk Good for Me?

Oat milk is a very popular cow’s milk alternative due to its creamy texture, nutty flavor, and versatility. Let’s review some of the pros and cons of oat milk together. 

Beneficial Nutrients

Oat milk provides a multitude of vitamins and minerals. These include vitamins B12, D, and A, and minerals such as iron, potassium, phosphorus, calcium, and riboflavin. This fortification process creates an oat milk product that more closely resembles that of cow’s milk. While it may provide the same vitamins and minerals as cow’s milk, it does not provide them in the same amount. 

Oat milk is also high in a type of soluble fiber known as beta-glucan. Beta-glucan has been shown to help with reducing cholesterol levels, namely LDL or “bad” cholesterol. 

Oat Milk Compared to Other Milks

Compared to cow’s milk, oat milk tends to have a similar calorie content, but has much less protein. In addition, oat milk has more carbohydrate per serving when compared to many of its plant-based counterparts like almond, coconut, and soy. Most oat milk is fortified with nutrients because many of the beneficial nutrients found naturally in oats are lost in the oat milk production process. Because of fortification, however, many of these nutrients are reintroduced to the milk and thus, oat milk boasts a pretty impressive nutrient profile.

All in all, oat milk serves as a great alternative for those who cannot consume dairy or nut-based products. While it may have some nutritional shortcomings, it does provide some benefit through its vitamin and mineral profile and soluble fiber content. It is ultimately left to the consumer to determine which milk alternative is best for their health and nutrition-related goals. 

What is Required for a Product to be Considered Gluten-Free?

In order for a manufacturer to label their oat milk as “gluten-free”, they must meet certain criteria set out by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Per the FDAs gluten-free labeling guidelines, a product cannot contain any gluten-containing ingredients and must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten in order to label themselves as gluten-free. Some research evidence has suggested that most individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity can tolerate trace amounts (less than 20ppm) without having adverse reactions. This is the basis upon which the FDA allows a product to be labeled gluten-free. With this in mind, let’s review oat milk’s gluten status together.

Is Oat Milk Gluten-Free?

Oat milk is made using water, oats, and a few other additives to ensure a pleasurable consistency and flavor. While oats are naturally gluten-free, they can sometimes be processed in facilities where they may come into contact with gluten-containing ingredients. For most, this would pose no real concern. But for those with celiac or gluten sensitivity, ensuring that the oat milk they consume is truly gluten-free is crucial. 

While all oat milk brands are not third-party tested and/or certified gluten-free, there are some brands that take the extra step to ensure safe, gluten-free production for their oat milk products. Some of these brands include Oatly, Califia Farms, and Chobani. As mentioned previously, certified gluten-free means that some gluten may still be present, but in very small amounts. 

Nutritional Profile of Oat Milk

Below is a breakdown of a popular oat milk brand’s ingredients list and nutrition facts. This specific brand is a certified gluten-free product. 

Califia Farms Original Oat Milk


  • Oatmilk (water, oats)
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Dipotassium Phosphate
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Tricalcium Phosphate
  • Sea Salt

Nutritional Information (per 8 fluid ounces):

  • Calories: 130
  • Total Fat: 7g
  • Saturated Fat: 1g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 0g
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 120mg
  • Total Carbohydrates: 15g
    • Total Sugars: 4g
    • Fiber: 0g
  • Protein: 2g

Alternative Options

For those who want guaranteed gluten-free milk alternatives, sticking with nut milk varieties will likely be your best bet. There are some alternatives that are not nut-based that can also be incorporated into a gluten-free diet. Let’s review a few of our favorite alternatives together! 

Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original Almondmilk

Almond Breeze Dairy Free Almondmilk Blend, Almond Coconut, Unsweetened Original, 32 Ounce (Pack of 12) This cow’s milk alternative is one of the most popular options and for good reason. Aside from its lack of protein, unsweetened almond milk only provides 30 calories, only 1 gram of carbohydrate, and lots of beneficial nutrients like healthy fats, vitamins A, D, E, and minerals magnesium, phosphorus, calcium, and iron. Almond milk is also naturally gluten-free. 


  • Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Almonds)
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Sea Salt
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Gellan Gum
  • Natural Flavors
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin D2
  • D-Alpha-Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E)

Nutritional Information (per 1 tablespoon):

  • Calories: 30
  • Total Fat: 2.5g
  • Saturated Fat: 0g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 0.5g
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 1.5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 170mg
  • Total Carbohydrates: 1g
    • Total Sugars: 0g
    • Fiber: 10g
  • Protein: 1g

Organic Unsweetened Soy Milk

Silk Unsweetened Organic Soymilk, 32-Ounce Aseptic Cartons (Pack of 6) Soy milk has been around for quite some time as one of the original cow’s milk alternatives. This nutrient-dense “milk” contains so many vitamins and minerals while also packing a protein punch, healthy fats, minimal carbohydrate and hardly any sugar. This would be a great alternative to oat milk as it is naturally gluten-free and dairy-free. 


  • Organic Soymilk (filtered water, organic soybeans)
  • Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2, Riboflavin, Vitamin B12)
  • Sea Salt
  • Gellan Gum
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Natural Flavor

Nutritional Information (per 8 fluid ounces):

  • Calories: 80
  • Total Fat: 4g
  • Saturated Fat: 0.5g
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 1g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 2.5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 75mg
  • Total Carbohydrates: 3g
    • Total Sugars: 1g
    • Fiber: 2g
  • Protein: 7g

Ripple Dairy Free Unsweetened Original

Ripple 32oz Non Dairy Milk, Original (Pack of 6) Vegan Friendly, Plant Based Milk With 8g Pea Protein Per Serving in Shelf Stable Cartons | Better For You, Better Tasting Too | Free of GMOs, Soy, Nut, Gluten, Lactose This alternative milk serves as a great option for those with nut allergies who cannot drink almond, cashew, or other nut milks. Ripple Dairy Free is powered by pea protein, so it packs 8 grams of plant-based protein in every cup. This is equivalent to the protein content in cow’s milk, but with fewer calories and significantly less carbohydrate. It also includes other crucial nutrients like vitamin A, D, and B12 and minerals such as calcium and potassium. 


  • Water
  • Pea Protein Blend (water, pea protein)
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Contains less than 1% of Vitamin A palmitate, Vitamin D2, Vitamin  B12, DHA Algal Oil, Tricalcium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sunflower Lecithin, Sea Salt, Mixed Tocopherols (to preserve freshness), Natural Flavor, Guar Gum, Gellan Gum. 

Nutritional Information (per 1 cup):

  • Calories: 80
  • Total Fat: 4.5g
  • Saturated Fat: 0g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 0g
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 2.5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 110mg
  • Total Carbohydrates: 1g
    • Total Sugars: 0g
    • Fiber: 1g
  • Protein: 8g

Main Takeaways

Oat milk is a popular cow’s milk alternative that is made from a blend of oats and water. While oats are naturally gluten-free, they are oftentimes processed in facilities that also process gluten-containing ingredients. This means that they could be cross-contaminated and no longer be considered gluten-free. It is important to search for certified gluten-free oat milk products. Fortified oat milk provides a multitude of beneficial nutrients and can also provide soluble fiber, which is beneficial for heart health. There are some other dairy alternatives such as almond milk, soy milk, and pea milk that can be used in place of oat milk for those wanting a guaranteed gluten-free milk product. 

Related Questions

Is oat milk a good choice for diabetics?

Because oat milk is made from a grain, its carbohydrate content tends to be a tad higher compared to cow’s milk and other dairy alternatives. This carbohydrate content along with little to no fiber creates a beverage that can cause a blood sugar spike. Because of this, oat milk may not be the most suitable choice for diabetics aiming to manage their blood sugar. 

Is oat milk vegan?

Yes, oat milk is vegan as it is only made using oats and water. There are no animal-derived ingredients used to make oat milk.  

Is oat milk allergen friendly?

Oat milk is free from some of the top allergens including dairy and nuts. This makes oat milk an excellent choice for those who have nut allergies or need to avoid dairy. Other varieties of milk alternatives like almond, cashew, or pecan milk are all made using nuts, but are also dairy free. 

Related Guides

Ashley Patrick

Ashley is a registered dietitian who enjoys helping others develop healthy habits that fit seamlessly into their everyday life. She believes in a balanced approach to health with nutrition, physical activity, and mental health being the main focus. Through nutrition education and counseling she has helped countless individuals take back their health, improve their quality of life, and develop a balanced approach to maintaining their health long term.

Recent Posts