Is New Amsterdam Vodka Gluten-Free? (You’d Be Surprised!)

Is New Amsterdam Vodka Gluten-Free

A smooth taste and a reasonable price – who could ask for more in a vodka?  For ten years, New Amsterdam has been making vodka out of its Modesto, California distillery.  It has a clean taste due to five distillation cycles and three times filtering, but is New Amsterdam Vodka gluten-free?

New Amsterdam vodka may be gluten-free. While this vodka contains 95% corn, the formula and ingredients are proprietary. Many distillers claim that the distillation process strips out the gluten in the grains, but this is not guaranteed. The best gluten-free alternatives to New Amsterdam vodka include Tito’s Vodka, Zodiac Vodka, Kissui Vodka, Cayman Blue Vodka, and Ciroc Vodka.

Let’s explore New Amsterdam vodka and the gluten-free question further by looking at the ingredients, the flavors, and the relationship to the distillation process.  Then, we’ll offer some alternatives that are safe for those with gluten sensitivities. Let’s dig in!

Distillation and Gluten

It is said that the distilling process removes the gluten proteins from grain alcohol.  However, this is not a 100% foolproof process.  Some people with celiac disease do just fine drinking New Amsterdam, while others have some adverse effects.  Depending on your health situation, you could try it and see what happens or avoid it altogether.  I cannot offer medical advice, so proceed with caution.  Some sources advise against consuming vodka altogether, and some agree that the glutens are removed during the distillation process.  You should be safe if the vodka does not contain gluten-containing ingredients in the first place.

New Amsterdam Ingredients

Before we start, there is one caveat on ingredients and nutrition.  Alcohol is not governed by the FDA, which requires food labels.  Often, ingredients and methods of production are proprietary.  Information gathered could be from the company’s website or from independent sources that analyze nutrients.

While New Amsterdam uses 95% corn in its formula, the other 5% are other unnamed cereal grains.  These grains could contain gluten.  While 5% is a seemingly small amount of grains with gluten and the five-fold distillation process is sure to remove a lot, there might be contaminants to be wary of.  New Amsterdam does not mention gluten-free on any of its brands.

The second caution is in the flavorings.  New Amsterdam has eight flavors listed on its website.  We cannot confirm what these flavorings are made of and whether those ingredients are gluten-free.  It is safer to drink the original and 100 Proof if you believe the gluten is removed during distillation.

Vodka Nutritional Information

We reiterate that there are no nutrition labels on most distilled spirits.  Vodka is calories and little else; it has no nutritional value or health benefits.  On the other hand, straight-up vodka is sodium-free, cholesterol-free, sugar-free, and fat-free.  Of course, if you add juice or soda to make a cocktail, this all changes.  Stick to a serving occasionally, and it won’t blow your diet plan.

Nutrition in 1 ½ oz of 80 proof vodka:

  • 97 Calories
  • 0g Fat
  • 0mg Sodium
  • 0g Carbohydrates (0g Fiber, 0g Sugar)
  • 0g Protein

Nutrition in 1 ½ oz of 100 proof vodka:

  • 124 Calories
  • 0g Fat
  • 0mg Sodium
  • 0g Carbohydrates (0g Fiber, 0g Sugar)
  • 0g Protein

Calories in flavored vodkas are very similar to the 80-proof vodka.  The flavorings in most vodkas do not raise the calorie count.

New Amsterdam Vodka

As of the printing of this article (late 2021), New Amsterdam does not list a gluten-free vodka on its website.  However, searches do result in bottles of gluten-free vodka for sale.  If you come across a bottle, it is 40% alcohol by volume.

New Amsterdam Varieties

The Original and 100 Proof are the main products, and these are the flavors currently available:

  • Watermelon
  • Grapefruit
  • Peach
  • Pineapple
  • Apple
  • Raspberry
  • Red Berry
  • Mango
  • Lemon
  • Coconut
  • Orange

Each of these flavors takes the original vodka and adds an ingredient to create the unique flavors.

Alternatives to New Amsterdam Vodka

Corn and potatoes are the most popular vodka ingredients available but read on to learn more about some other unique vodka mixes.  The gluten-free choices are wide and varied.  This list is honestly just the tip of the iceberg.

Corn/Buckwheat Vodka

Stolichnaya Gluten-Free Vodka

Stoli Premium Vodkas are made with wheat and rye, but the gluten-free variety is made from 88% corn and 12% buckwheat.  The vodka is 40% alcohol by volume (80 proof).  Combine Stoli gluten-free vodka with Ginger beer and lime juice, and you have a gluten-free Moscow Mule made from a Russian vodka.

Corn Vodkas

Tito’s Handmade Vodka

Made in Texas, Tito’s is distilled from corn.  It is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.  It’s certified kosher as well.  Tito’s is 80 proof or 40% alcohol by volume.


Smirnoff 90 Proof Vodka, No. 21 Vodka, and 100 Proof Vodkas are all kosher and gluten-free.  It is made from corn. It is ten times filtered using a charcoal filtering system.  There are no such claims on its flavored infusions or ready-to-drink cocktails.  Smirnoff claims to be the most popular brand globally, and thus its readily found in most liquor stores.

Potato Vodkas

There are about 21 potato vodkas (and counting) in production around the globe, which is excellent news for those who love vodka and want to avoid gluten.  Many of these brands carry the gluten-free label, which makes your choices clearer.

Zodiac Vodka

Made in Idaho, Zodiac is made from high-quality non-GMO potatoes and water from the Snake River Aquifer, making it gluten-free.  It is single-filtered and comes in Original and Black Cherry flavors.  It is 80 proof or 40% alcohol by volume.

Schramm Organic Potato Vodka

Another potato vodka, this one originates in British Columbia, Canada.  Made from Pemberton potatoes, it is certified organic with no artificial colors, additives and is non-GMO.   It is 40% alcohol by volume or 80 proof.

Cold River Vodka

This is a small-batch, gluten-free vodka from Maine.  It is made from 100% potatoes and is 80 proof or 40% alcohol by volume (the Distiller’s Reserve is 90 proof).  They have an Original Vodka, Distiller’s Reserve Vodka (finished in oak barrels), and a Blueberry Vodka made from Maine blueberries.  All are listed as gluten-free.  They also make a potato gin.

Monopolowa Vodka

Originally from Poland, it is currently distilled in Austria and made from potatoes.  It’s been in existence for over 200 years.  Monopolowa makes one vodka and one gin which is 40% alcohol by volume or 80 proof.

Grape Vodka

Bombora Vodka

This vodka is made in Australia from grapes and is distilled ten times through charcoal filters, resulting in a smooth taste of vodka.  Since the company only makes a grape-based vodka, cross-contamination of any sort is very low.  It is 80 proof or 40% alcohol by volume.

Ciroc Vodka

Ciroc is also made from grapes, this time from France.  It is distilled five times.  The gluten-free claims are only listed on the website for the original formula, so use caution with the flavored vodkas.  The original vodka is 40% alcohol by volume or 80 proof, while many flavors are 35% alcohol by volume or 70 proof.

Flavors include:

  • Original
  • Mango
  • Apple
  • Pineapple
  • Red Berry
  • Coconut
  • Peach
  • French Vanilla
  • White Grape
  • Summer Citrus
  • Summer Watermelon
  • Pomegranate

Sugar Cane Vodka

Cayman Blue Vodka

Produced in the Dominican Republic, Cayman uses sugar cane and spring water.  It is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).  There is little information found on this brand.

Fig Vodka

Is there anything they can’t make vodka from?  Fig vodka is unique but gluten-free!

Kleiner Feigling Vodka

From Germany and distilled from figs, it is lower in alcohol content than other vodkas at 40 proof or 20% alcohol by volume.  It’s gluten-free with a smooth fruity taste.

Rice Vodka

Kissui Vodka

It is made from rice and spring water (Kissui means “pure” or “made from one ingredient.” This vodka from Japan uses a unique distilling process called “Super-Allospas.”  This gives it a smooth flavor and silky finish.  It is 40% alcohol by volume or 80 proof.

Related Questions

Can I Enjoy New Amsterdam Vodka on a Keto Diet?

Yes, vodkas rarely have any carbs or fat.  They are just some calories which you should be aware of.  Of course, if you enjoy vodka on the rocks, it’s more keto-friendly than adding fruit juices or creams to create a cocktail.  Alone or mixed with seltzer, it’s definitely keto-friendly.

Is New Amsterdam Vodka Healthy?

Alcohol has no nutritional value.  It will not add anything to your diet except calories.  If you have a shot or on the rocks, you are consuming around 60-90 calories.  Some claim that having one or two drinks on occasion is good for you, but don’t add this to your diet if you don’t drink.  Consuming plain vodka on occasion is fine.  Flavored vodkas will not add any vitamins or minerals to your diet.   Whether you choose New Amsterdam or one of the other vodkas, the nutrition is similar.

What if I Can’t Find the Ingredients List?

In my research, I ran across some vodkas that were purported to be gluten-free on some gluten websites, but when I went to research them, I could not find an ingredient list.  In this case, I would probably choose another brand to stay on the safe side.  Gluten sensitivity is nothing to play around with, and since there are plenty of alternatives on the market, it’s best not to take a chance.

Related Guides

Kimberly Burton

Kim Burton is a certified Nutrition Coach and freelance writer living in the mountains of Colorado. She believes in a Qualitarian diet and that the path to a healthy lifestyle begins inside of each one of us. After years of struggling with her own health, she found that changing the way she eats and moves made all the difference. She uses what she learns to empower others to think of food as medicine.

Recent Posts