Is Champagne Gluten Free? (Find Out Now!)

Is Champagne Gluten Free

Champagne is a classic celebratory drink in many Western cultures. If you’ve ever attended a wedding, graduation ceremony, or general congratulatory event, you’ve probably raised a glass of champagne to toast the participant of honor. Because of its popularity, many people want to make sure it fits into their dietary preferences and wonder how it stacks up against alternatives.

Champagne is considered gluten free. While champagne does not contain any gluten ingredients, cross-contamination is possible during manufacturing. For celiacs and those with gluten allergies, it is recommended to look for a bottle with a gluten-free certification. Additional gluten-free alternatives to champagne include Lamberti Spumante Sparkling Rose, Cremant De Loire, FitVine Pinot Grigio and Tito’s Vodka.

We’re here to answer all your questions about Champagne. What is the nutritional information? What is Champagne and how is it different from sparkling wine? How do the best gluten-free alcohol alternatives stack up?

What is Champagne?

For a product to truly be called Champagne, is must originate from the Champagne region in the northeastern corner of France.

All Champagne is technically sparkling wine, but not all sparkling wine is Champagne. This is because it is technically illegal to label a sparkling wine as Champagne if it does not come from this region.

Besides being from the specific region, there are also a strict set of guidelines set in place by the region that must be adhered to for a bottle to be formally labeled as Champagne.

What are the Varieties of Champagne?

Champagne comes in a wide spectrum of styles and all of them are delicious. The most common ones you’ll see lining the shelves of your local wine shop or supermarket are dry, aka not sweet. That would be Brut Nature, Extra Brut or Brut. If you like a sugary kiss to your bubbly, keep an eye out for bottles labeled Extra Dry, Sec, Demi-Sec or Doux. They’re rarer but 100% worth hunting down.

Why is the Price Tag for Champagne so High?

Part of the reason that Champagne is considered to be the drink of formal occasions or congratulations is because the price tag often makes it a “splurge” reserved for special occasions.

One of the reasons Champagne is so expensive is because of the region it is from. The climate in the Champagne region is predisposed to frost, hail, and harsh rains, all of which can kill the grape vines from growing and producing high quality grapes.

This harsh weather can sometimes lead to smaller harvests, and when these harvests do happen, the grapes must be picked by hand. Both of these factors drive up the price of Champagne.

Another reason for the cost is that Champagne is produced via a very traditional method. The grapes are made into juice, which is then fermented into a base wine. Once this base wine is created, sugar and yeast are added, and a second fermentation takes place. This second fermentation leads to the bubbles forming what we call a sparkling wine. At this point, the wine must then be aged for another 15 months for non-vintage bottles and at least 3 years for vintage bottles. Many champagne brands are aged must longer than this.

The cost comes down to the labor, length of process, and often scarcity of the grapes. However, if you’ve ever tasted a high quality champagne, you know that it is worth it!

What’s the difference between Champagne and sparkling wine?

Champagne is a form of sparkling wine that is from the Champagne region in France. Many other sparkling wines are very similar to Champagne but cannot have this label because they are not from the region.

Champagne also must be made through a lengthy process involving double fermentation, while many other sparkling wines can be made in less expensive and time-intensive ways.

One of the most common sparkling wines outside of Champagne is Prosecco. Prosecco gets its bubbles from a pressurized method instead of fermenting in the bottle. This method does not lead to quite the same fizz as Champagne, but it is a more affordable option and even preferred by some.

Is Champagne Gluten Free?

In order to make it bubbly, champagne is instilled with a high amount of carbon dioxide. This carbonation results from natural yeast fermentation and is gluten free. Many people confuse this with the use of yeast in beer, which does contain gluten.

Champagne is generally considered safe to consume for those who are intolerant of gluten because it does not involve any gluten containing ingredients in the processing. However, cross-contamination is possible for products. To be extra safe, look for companies that certify their products and label their bottles as gluten-free.

Most of the instances for cross-contamination come from re-using barrels to brew champagne that were once used to process and package wine or malt-based barrels.

This isn’t commonplace, but is still something to be aware of. Even though wine is generally gluten-free, glutenous materials such as wheat-based pastes to seal the barrels are still sometimes used.

If you have a severe gluten allergy or intolerance, it may be a good idea to call your champagne company to ensure they do not cross-use barrels.

Champagne Nutrition Information

Moët & Chandon Brut Impérial

There are many popular champagne brands, each with slightly different nutritional information. One of the most popular brands of Champagne is Moët & Chandon Brut Impérial.

Moët and Chandon ensures their products are gluten free with the following statement: “We confirm you that our Champagne is only made with grapes and is gluten and wheat free and without animal or eggs products.”

Nutritional Information (Per 100 g/100 ml):

  • Calories: 85
  • Fat: 0 gram (0% DV)
  • Carbs: 2.8 grams (12% DV)
  • Fiber: 0 grams (0% DV)
  • Sugar: 1.4 grams
  • Protein: 0.3 grams
  • Sodium: 40 mg (0% DV)
  • Alcohol: 12% by volume


  • Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and Pinot Meunier grape varieties

Nicolas Feuillatte Brut Champagne

Another popular champagne brand is Nicolas Feuillatte Brut Champagne. One glass of this will provide the following nutritional information:

Nutritional Information (Per 125 g/125 ml):

  • Calories: 125
  • Fat: 0 gram (0% DV)
  • Carbs: 4 grams (2% DV)
  • Fiber: 0 grams (0% DV)
  • Sugar: 1 gram
  • Protein: 0.3 grams
  • Sodium: 10 mg (0% DV)
  • Alcohol: 13% by volume


  • Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and Pinot Meunier grape varieties

Champagne Alternatives

Champagne is great for occasions where you don’t mind the extra price tag, but sparkling wine is a good option if you want to drink this regularly.

There are many delicious budget-friendly sparkling wines including Prosecco or Cremant. These sparkling wines can be spruced up by adding fruit slices, herbs such as rosemary or mint, and even flavored syrups to create delicious cocktail creations.

Lamberti Spumante Sparkling Rose Wine

Nutritional Information (Per 240 ml):

  • Calories: 99
  • Carbs: 2 grams (10% DV)
  • Alcohol: 11.5% by volume


  • Pinot Noir, Pinot Nero, Pinot Blanc grape varieties

Cremant De Loire

Nutritional Information (Per 100 ml):

  • Calories: 79
  • Carbs: 3 grams (15% DV)
  • Alcohol: 12.5% by volume


  • Chenin Blanc and Chardonnay grape varieties

Healthier Gluten-Free Alcohol Alternatives

If you drink in moderation, alcohol can be a regular incorporation into your diet without too many health downsides. The main things you want to watch out for are not over-consuming and watching the sugar intake.

Wines can often be a recipe for consuming an excessive amount of sugar without realizing it (and consequentially a very painful hangover!). To avoid this, try choosing a wine on the market specifically marketed towards less sugar and flavor additives.

FitVine Pinot Grigio

FitVine wines are supposed to taste just like regular wine varieties, but with less sugar and fewer additives. The goal of the wine is to feel “light and crisp.” One of the most popular varieties is the Pinot Grigio.

Nutritional Information (Per 150 ml, 5 fl oz):

  • Calories: 109
  • Carbs: 2.5 grams (13% DV)
  • Sugar: 0.09 g
  • Alcohol: 13.4% by volume


  • Pinot Grigio grapes

Tito’s Vodka

If you are looking to replace Champagne with a less sugary and lower calorie cocktail, try choosing a base of Tito’s Vodka. It is created in a gluten-free facility and is certified to not contain traces of gluten. Instead of being created out of potatoes or wheat, this vodka is made from yellow corn.

This vodka can easily be added to diet soda, juice, or tonic water with fruit to create a delicious and refreshing drink. The nutrition information is as follows:

Nutritional Information (Per 44 ml, 1.5 fl oz):

  • Calories: 97
  • Carbs: 0 grams (0% DV)
  • Sugar: 0.0 g
  • Alcohol: 40% by volume


  • Distilled from yellow corn (distilled 6 times and unaged)

Related Questions

Is Champagne vegan?

Not all champagne is vegan, nor is all Prosecco or sparkling wine. These products sometimes use animal-derived products in the manufacturing process, despite not naturally containing any animal ingredients. To be sure your product is vegan, check the label or call the manufacturer.

Is Champagne sweet?

Champagne ranges from dry to sweet depending on how much sugar is added during the processing. If you are looking for a dry (not sweet) variety, look for brut and sec varieties. If you are looking for sweetness, look for demi-sec and doux varieties.

Related Guides

Josie Burridge

Josie has always had a passion for food and for cooking. From a young age, she was always in the kitchen mixing up new recipes and serving way-too-elaborate meals. She graduated with a degree in biomedical engineering, emphasizing her studies on biology and biochemistry. She currently studies nutritional epidemiology, and loves combining her knowledge of science with her love of food to provide people with high-quality, up-to-date nutritional information and research.

Recent Posts